Colburn and Stokes tie for top Calvert finish

BENTON- (Filed 8:15 p.m.;  November 6, 2012) Unofficial results released by Marshall County Court Clerk Tim York show incumbents Kevin Stokes and Gene Colburn tied as the top vote getters in the Calvert City Council race with 760 votes each. Dr. Rick Cocke came in third with 736 votes, Tim Hawkins was fourth with 656 votes, and R. Daryl Smith was fifth with 650 votes. All three are also incumbents.

Lisa Sills a political newcomer picked up the remaining sixth seat on the council with 638 votes. Sills narrowly beat out Sandra Wright who had 627 votes. Larry Whitt finished eighth with 376 votes. David Wells name appeared on the ballot but he withdrew from the race after the ballot was printed. None of the votes for Wells counted although they were tabulated.

In Marshall County Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan hammered President Barrack Obama by taking 66 percent of the vote. Romney got 10,402 votes to Obama’s 5,022.

U.S. Representative Ed Whitfield crushed Marshall County native Charles K. Hatchett 10,279 to 5,141.

State Rep. Will Coursey was unopposed in his bid to return to Frankfort.

Commonwealth Attorney of the 42nd Judicial Circuit Mark Blankenship was also unopposed in his race.

Marshall Circuit Clerk Carla Marshall was re-elected unopposed in her race as well.

All six candidates for Benton Council were unopposed. They include Josh Hendrickson (R); Butch Holland (D); Bill Thorpe (D); Charles Edmonds (D); Chris Freeland (D); and Rita Dotson (D).

Lyn Hendrickson, Stacey Brewer, Bill Elkins, Ronnie Black, Gary Freeman and Donnie Birdsong, all Democrats were unopposed for the six Hardin City Council seats.

Ronald Hargis, Dennis Henson and Philip Jarvis were elected unopposed as Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors.

David Gilland, of the first District, Donna Perry of the 4th District and Mike Wyatt of the 5th District were re-elected unopposed to their seats on the Marshall County Board of Education.

The constitutional amendment to guarantee the right to hunt passed in Marshall County 12,323 to 1,331.

National results for the race for President will hopefully be available by early tomorrow. At the time of this release polls in some states were still open due to the heavy turn out.